Volunteer? Are You Kidding?

By Dale Collie

 Over the years a lot of experienced NSA members made the comment that volunteering really pays off. I have to admit that I was kind of leery of their remarks that seemed a whole lot like “recruiting.”

Chapter leadership kind of pulled me into action, first as a director, then as an officer, and finally as chapter president. And all of that kind of made sense to me because my volunteer work was helping hometown speakers and myself at the same time.

I was reluctant to get involved at the national level because all I could see there was grunt work or cliques that surly wouldn’t need my expertise. One of our chapter members, however, talked me into being a “people mover,” and the next year someone I’d met as a people mover asked if I would help with something else. As I got to know more people, I volunteered to help with one of the PEGs, and that led to handling a PEG newsletter and the teleseminars and then to being PEG chair. I’ve just finished a very rewarding year as chair of all the PEGs — thanks to the great PEG chairs and leadership teams. Next year I’ll be involved in another volunteer position.

Here are some things I’ve learned along the way:

  • There is no clique that brings in special people. They want capable people who are willing to do the job, not “good friends only.”
  • Dozens of volunteers make NSA what it is today
  •  The highly visible volunteers are backed up by many who never receive any public recognition
  •  All of those people at the top have demonstrated their willingness to help others
  •  “Helping others get what they want will help you get what you want.” Zig Ziglar (paraphrased)
  •  Let others know that you want to volunteer
  • Do what you’re invited to do instead of “wishing and waiting” to asked to do something glamorous
  • Make a contribution in your role as a volunteer; be active, meet deadlines, attend meetings, make a difference
  • Stay in touch with those you meet along the way – not with an agenda, just as new friends
  • Go out of your way to help staff and other volunteer leaders
  • Give others credit for achievements; it’s a team effort
  • Be persistent in volunteering for what you want to do; help those who now hold the job you’d like to fill
  • The more I volunteer, the more good things happen to me

Let’s make sure everyone knows how they can put their expertise to work in helping others succeed. Add your comments about volunteering.